The English village of Rye

Posted on January 6, 2010

0


Perhaps one of the reasons I like Rye is because there are hints of France all over the place due to its history of rule.

It’s a great village to spend a few days although it did nothing to help the ever-expanding waistline that Christmas brings. The village has cobbled streets and is famed for its numerous eateries. I loved the smaller cosy cafe type places such as The Apothecary, and the home-made soups at Fletchers were fantastic, but there are also some great pubs and restaurants.

We ate at The Ship which had excellent food all locally sourced. I had Venison which I can highly recommend. The George is meant to be very good too and The Mermaid is perfect for an apero or digestif in front of the everlasting winter fire.

Being English and living in Spain, I miss my curries. The Gandhi gave me the top up I needed by my American boyfriend (obviously a foody too) loved it although was quite disappointed that he didn’t see many of the dishes that we learnt when in Kerala earlier last year. A parathi had to suffice to fill that gap.

There are plenty of places to stay and we enjoyed The Windmill which has great hospitality. They gave us a couple of super walks – one refreshing but windy down to the long beach at Camber Sands, and the other on the 1066 walk through Winchelsea to Icklesham where we rewarded ourselves with a super (but enormous) pub meal at a 17th century inn, the Queens Head.

Posted in: UK