L’avant Gout, Paris (13th)

Posted on February 24, 2010

0


When I was in Paris recently, a client took my boss and I out for lunch.They had recently moved offices and told us that there weren’t any good places nearby so they had booked a restaurant in the nearby 13th Arrondissement, not far from Place d’Italie. L’avant Gout is run by chef Christophe Beaufront in a discreet restaurant with French cuisine.

Our client told us that L’avant Gout was great for lunch but ‘un peu cher pour diner‘ – a bit expensive in the evening. The menu looked fairly reasonably price and the lunch menu was a snip at 14euros including a glass of wine and coffee. The only downside to this whole experience was that as I was with clients, I don’t feel it appropriate to start taking photos and writing notes. I guess this means I will have to go back at some point, big sigh.

To start we had a potato soup with a beurre de citron. The bowls arrived with a foamy, citron scented ball in the centre. The potato soup was then poured in so that the froth floated, gently starting to melt into the soup. I have never realised that potato soup can taste so divine.

For the main course we had salmon, pan-fried perfectly so it was a little crisp on the outside but soft and juicy in the middle, and on a bed of what I think was artichokes and almonds. Again, this was a perfectly balanced dish and every bite was a delight.

I will certainly be returning!

Details

L’avant Gout: 26 rue Bobillot, Paris 75013; +33 1 53 80 24 00; www.lavantgout.com

Tip: make sure you reserve, the restaurant is small and word of its delights have spread making it a popular choice amongst locals.

