Oslo

Posted on June 17, 2010

2


After a beautiful weekend in Stavanger, I spent a few days on business in Oslo. I felt like I was jet lagged from Spanish lifestyle despite no change in timezone: Norwegians start work early and finish early. 4pm at the latest to be exact. I can imagine it’s a great lifestyle if you have a family but quite honestly I struggled with the early morning meetings – my alarm doesn’t usually sound until 9am!

Oslo is a pretty city and easy to be in but it’s not somewhere I would necessarily choose for a weekend away if I had the choice. One of the best things about Oslo is that you can walk everywhere, and often through the main parks or pedestrian streets. It’s easy to just grab a map and go from there  – the centre is situated with the waterfront at the south, Slottsparken (a large park) on the west and a Oslo Domkirke (a large church). Apparently you can visit parliament most days at 11am but my schedule didn’t allow to test this out.

The harbour is a good bet for restaurants and bars if you are wondering where to go but there are also many good Café’s around the town, including Theatrekafeen which is a classical old style restaurant that is popular amongst businessmen and ladies who lunch.

With water all around, there is some great fish to be had in Norway. Halibut, Cod, Salmon and prawns are staples and delicious.

I ate at the following restaurants that I would recommend:

Lorry on the north side of Slottsparken which has a large outdoor terrace, ideal for summer

Literature House next to Lorry and has a good café, ideal for lunch

Bolgen & Moi on the harbour where the food was great (try the prawns or the fish soup) and the service was personal with the maitre d’ having my friend and I crying with laughter.

Getting to and from the airport is easy with the airport buses, and costs 120NOK (around 15eur). Regular buses run from the main airport (details at: www.flybussen.no/oslo) and are put on especially to coincide with flights to and from Rygge airport in the south (Ryanair and some Norwegian flights come in here, more details at: www.rygge-ekspressen.no). You don’t need to book ahead for either.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Scandinavia