New York City

Posted on October 10, 2010

1


I’ve been to New York twice before, and only once as an adult (where we did a tourist trip – Empire States building, Times Square, horse-drawn carriages, the works). I didn’t think I liked the city that much so I was pleasantly surprised when spending a week with a good friend who moved earlier this year. She took me to some great spots and I loved every minute of my trip so I thought I’d share….

To eat:

  • Orso for great Italian with a twist. Try the fig, prosciutto, and gorgonzola pizza. Around $60 per person
  • Indochine for Vietnamese food. Everything we tried was delicious but I especially recommend the steamed sea bass with black bean and bok choi in a broth, I am not sure I have ever had sea bass so perfectly cooked. About $70 per person.
  • L’Esquina for Mexican. You can either go for the diner with $2 tacos and a nice cheap eat, or book well ahead for the hidden bar and restaurant. Find the bouncer at the back, walk down the stairs, through the kitchen and find a beautiful bar/restaurant with tingling margaritas and excellent mexican. About $60 per person. Note that booking can only be done by an online form in advance.
  • Chelsea Market in the meatpacking district for a range of eateries, perfect for the weekend to meet friends.
  • Cafe Gitane at the Jane Hotel for modern Moroccan. Try the avocado on toast, simple yet divine.

NYC is a cocktail town and I have left with a new tipple…. the lemon drop. My favourite cocktail bar is hard toss up between the Sub Mercer at the Mercer Hotel (unmarked, with bouncers at the door, an industrial lift takes you down to the basement where you walk through wine cellars to a great little bar); or the Stanford Social Club  Other favourites from friends are: Public, Ino Teca, Xicala wine bar, which are all in the same area.

There is, of course, no shortage of things to do in NYC. I love the galleries especially the Gugenheim and the MET, although didn’t get a chance to visit on this trip. My favourite day out was when we hired bikes and cycled westside highway to the meat packing district. We chained out bikes up and took a stroll on the high line, a converted rail track gives you a different view of the city and is a pleasant walk.

I was really pleased to see that there really are very few chain stores in NYC, especially when it comes to restaurants. I also loved that everyone talks to each other which may be the reason I think the service is so good too. Just one thing to leave you with….don’t forget to tip!

Tagged:
Posted in: USA