Las Vegas

Posted on March 31, 2011

0


I wasn’t sure I’d like Las Vegas, I actually thought I’d hate it, but it combines two of my favourite passtimes: food and people watching.

The Hotels are totally over the top, and each hotel has it’s ‘thing’ : gondolas at the Venetian, lions at the MGM Grand, a mini city with rooftop roller coaster at New York New York. My favourite was the Bellaggio because of the total opulence on every single angle of the place. The water show at the front of the hotel is superb and attracts hundreds of visitors despite the frequency – make sure you see it at least once.

There are more than 20 Nobus bu the waiter told us proudly that only in Las Vegas does it have a Michelin star. We got a warm welcome and felt thoroighly spoilt. The staff and knowledgable, patient and not al all pushy. I’d listen to their advice. At a friend’s recomendation we gave a budget (($75 for food) and some guidelines of tastes we like (ok had been recommended by a Nobu Guru) and let them work their wonder. This is the definition of fusion. I also took advice on cocktails and think I will spend hours and hours trying to replicate the delicious cucumber martini. Food wise we had:

  • Oyster sampler
  • Yellowfin tuna with jalepeno pepper
  • The Miso cod is divine. Tastes like butter and melts in your mouth
  • Tempura prawns 3 style
  • A dessert platter which was heaven on a plate

Despite the fact that this goes against my personal religion, I couldn’t go to Vegas and not have an all you an eat buffet. Urban spoon lists the top ten and I tried the Cravings buffet in the Mirage. It’s $20 plus tip for all yo ca eat including soft drinks. Alcohol is reasonable too. It turned out to be one of the healthiest meals I have had in the USA. There are a number of stations with different types of food: raw food, noodles, sushi, Italian, barbecue, salad, rotisserie, desserts and ice cream. I had some of the sushi spass: glass noddles with prawns and broccoli in a sesame sauce and spinach and sesame, along with jumbo prawns and ceviche to start. Followed by freshly made wonton soup. Next up a quesadilla, barbecue pork and salsa. Followed with a baby key lime pie and a large bowl of fresh pineapple. Admittedly there was some rubbish there but I had a wonderful meal and I hate to admit it, but I’d recommend it.

Another must do (much higher up the list than the buffet!) was a helicopter tour to the Grand Canyon. I went with Maverick, through Grand Canyon Tour Company and absolutely loved it. It cost $270 for a flight of almost 2hrs and was worth every penny.

We wanted to see a show so we visited one of the half price ticket booths and settled on Sandy Hacketts ‘The Rat Pack’ in the Riviera. The theatre was small and felt a little like a high school production but the singers were amazing and we loved the show itself. We’re not in peak season so there are plenty of cheap tickets around bu if there is something that yo particularly wan t watch, I’d book before.

Although I didn’t get a chance to do this, the Eiffel tower is meant to be a great place to watch the sun go down as it has one of the best views of the Vegas Strip.

Booking flights and hotels together through Opodo proved a lot better value. Be wary though as US Airways charge for baggage on the day ($25 for a bag up to 50lbs, 22kg) We paid £200 each for flights and two nights at MGM Grand not including the resort fee of $18 per person per day, or the gym at $15 per day or $60 for 3days including all the spa facilities.

Posted in: USA