Hanging in Harlem

Posted on July 15, 2013

0


I had mixed reactions to staying in Harlem for 10 days as part of my neighbourhood exploration of NY. A friend had kindly lent me his apartment on 127th and Lennox, his parting words ‘Don’t go East more than two blocks from here. I mean it.’  Yikes!

Actually Harlem is an up and coming NY neighbourhood as can be told by two distinct features:

Firstly a delightful, new(ish) cafe with great coffee, tea, snacks and clientele that all have Macs whilst using the free wife. I loved Lennox Coffee 😉

And secondly the trendy Red Rooster from Marcus Samuelsson pays tribute to the roots of Harlem by way of name 9after a local speakeasy), food, and music. A little over priced, but great fun with mains that include grits and jerk chicken.

Two other restaurants that I heard great things about are the French Maison Harlem, and the bargain Dinosaur BBQ that a friends tells me does some of the best steak in NY. And of course there is the Harlem Shake for all American burgers and shakes.

If you are up that way, pop into Hot Bread Kitchen which not only sells delicious multi-ethnic breads but also helps trains foreign-born and low-income women and men.

