Eating well in Palo Alto, and stopping in San Francisco

Posted on November 10, 2013

0



I’ve just had a quick trip to Silicon Valley and have a few good food recommendations, and some places not to stay, to share.

It was my first time to Silicon Valley and right from the efficiency of picking up a car at the airport, the drive down 101 with the bay and mountains in view I knew I was going to like it there. I was an event in Sunnyvale at the Yahoo! News campus so didn’t get a huge amount of time to explore. Staying in Palo Alto as there is more to offer than Sunnyvale, was a good decision although the very brown Sheraton wouldn’t be my first choice. It was nice to explore the town and I enjoyed both restaurants that I ate at:

Joya which is technically a tapas bar (American portions and ultra rich)

Reposado a delicious Mexican that services good margaritas, delicious guacamole and divine slow cooked beef.

After one dinner a friend and I stopped at The Wine Room, which I just loved. Cosy and perfect for a port, chocolate and catching up.

Also recommended to me in Palo Alto were: Tamarind,  Pampas,  ThaiphoonJing Jing

If I had of had time I would have gone riding in Half Moon Bay but alas I was there to work, and work I did.

IMG_5041

However I don’t manage a short escape popping into the fabulous de Young museum in Golden Gate Park and then for a walk along Ocean Beach.

Luckily a colleague took me out for lunch to a wonderful place – a food truck park. In the sun it was fabulous.

Streatfood

A friend who knows her food recommended Coqueta in San Francisco but I couldn’t get a reservation in time.

Also check out posts from my last visit to San Francisco and Sonoma when I had more time to explore and eat!

Posted in: Destinations, USA