Barcelona: the city that has it all

Posted on June 18, 2014

0



Oh where to start with Barcelona. Small windy pedestrian streets, beautiful plazas, hills, museums, food (of the food) and a beach. The city has it all.

I was there recently for a conference and got a sneak peak at a few amazing places….

My first night I was taken to a fabulous little place called Canete where the food was out of this world. I particularly  the Solmorejo. Afterwards, the host suggested that we stopped on at a place that had ‘had the best G&T in Barcelona’. In my glad rags after a business event I looked a touch out of place without tattoos and a mohikan at Bollocks. But the G&T was indeed great.

At the other end of the spectrum a small group of us ended up at Bota Fumeiro late one night. It’s a kind of crisp white table cloths with live shell fish place. Smart, overpriced, but delicious food and excellent service.

After a few too many cavas I felt a little ropey when I arrived at Cacao Sampaka for breakfast for Aztec hot chocolate and churros. It was the tastiest hangover cure I’ve ever had. Make sure you schedule time for a siesta after the sugar rush has worn off though.

BoqueriaFor some authentic quality Catalan food, try Le Petit Comite. In fact there are a few places on Passatge de la Concepcio that I wouldn’t mind trying. Also I have heard great things about Tapas 24 and Les Quinze Nits. As a foodie, no trip to Barcelona is complete without visiting Boqueria market. Something I really miss from living on mainland Europe.

For a spot of Gaudi, aside from the Park and Sagrada Familia, make sure you visit La Pedrera for roof top views. And Fundacio Miro is one of my favourite places. Even if you are not a fan of his art, the walk up and views of Barcelona are spectacular.

I can’t help but finish this post with a slight brag. I got to hang out with one of the best chefs in the world, talking about creativity and innovation in food, which is waht chef Ferran Adria is now working on with Bullipedia and Bullilab at Fundacion El Bulli.

2014-06-14 13.15.21-1

